Message from the Co-Chairs

This year, we’re “Bringing Philanthropy Home!”

Orange County’s 2020 National Philanthropy Day will be a celebration of the vital role that philanthropy plays in our lives each and every day. Of the community members that put fuel to our region’s philanthropic fire. And, it will recognize the national movement that started 35 years ago, right here in Orange County, thanks to the vision of Doug Freeman.

Our 35th annual National Philanthropy Day will celebrate the philanthropic “movers and shakers” in Orange County – the individuals, businesses, nonprofits, and youth honorees who make philanthropy a top priority in their lives. We encourage you to nominate a person, group or business – even to submit multiple nominations! – who “bring philanthropy home” each and every day.

All nominees will be recognized for their contributions at this year’s interactive, virtual National Philanthropy Day, set for 12 noon to 1 p.m. on Thursday, November 19. As in prior years, nominations categories are:

• Legacy
• Philanthropist
• Founder
• Volunteer Fundraiser
• Small Corporation or Business
• Medium Corporation or Business
• Large Corporation or Business
• Philanthropic Group
• Youth or Youth Group

A volunteer community panel then reviews all nominations and selects an outstanding honoree from each category. These outstanding honorees are recognized onstage at the luncheon, attended by more than 800 of our region’s top philanthropists, business leaders and nonprofit executives.

Orange County is blessed with community leaders and philanthropists who give their time and resources to enhance our community and world. National Philanthropy Day provides an excellent opportunity to celebrate their generosity and heart. And, as the birthplace of National Philanthropy Day, Orange County’s celebration is always extra-special.

Please join us as we bring philanthropy home on November 19th!

In celebration,

Elizabeth Kurila, 2020 Co-Chair
Joan McBride, CFRE, 2020 Co-Chair 

2019 NPD-OC Committee

The Committee

2020 NPD Orange County

Elizabeth Kurila
Discovery Science Foundation, Ocean Quest

Joan McBride, CFRE
Greatrake, McBride & Associates

2020 NPD Orange County
Planning Committee

Viki Barie: Submissions, Judging & Awards
St. Joseph Hospital Foundation

Donna Bunce: Media/Public Relations
Donna Bunce & Associates

Kathy Corpuz: Marketing/Webmaster
Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Orange Coast

Andrea Dabrow: Venue Co-Chair
Tustin Public Schools Foundation

Bill Ennis: Video Production
Media Magic

Scott Evans: Registration

Michelle Highberg: Volunteers Co-Chair
Discovery Science Foundation

Amanda Hughes: Registration Co-Chair
University of California, Irvine

Kay Linan
Segerstrom Center for the Arts

Carrie Logue: Décor
Los Alamitos Education Foundation

Elizabeth McKibbin: Sponsorship Co-Chair
Orange Catholic Foundation

Cathy Michaels: Submissions, Judging & Awards
Orange County School of the Arts

Shazeen Mufti: Registration Co-Chair

Chanda Parrett, CFRE, CSPG
Chanda Parrett Consulting

Susan Quintero: Venue Co-Chair
City National Grove of Anaheim

Andrea Randle
Public Media Group of Southern CA

Kathy Ruvolo: Program Co-Chair
Community Leader

Mitchell Spann: Program Co-Chair
University of California, Irvine

Catherine Spear, CFRE: President AFPOC
C. Spear & Associates

Mary Beth Steen, CFRE: Volunteer Co-Chair
Habitat for Humanity of Orange County

Briana Watson
Pacific Chorale

Robyn Williams: Communications Chair
Miracles for Kids